“Who Cheats – and Why?”

The article I read this week was called “Who Cheats – and Why?” It was all about statistics based on students that cheat for success. The writer gave examples on multiple studies based on age, religion, finances, etc. and how they relate to cheating and plagiarism. One statistic that caught my eye was that 51% of teens age 17 or younger believed that cheating was necessary for success and that 10% of people older than 50 agreed. Another fact in the article was that men are less honest than women, but women are just as likely to lie for a financial reward. I found these both interesting, but also found them to be very true from prior experiences. I enjoyed the writers style, I think their could’ve been more detail, but I understand that was probably difficult since it was based on studies and results. I think the title was creative because it caught my eye first out of all the other titles on the page. I would give this article a thumbs up because I found it interesting to learn about these different statistics.

 

Beck, Julie. “Who Cheats-And Why.” The Atlantic. Atlantic Media Company, Jan.-Feb. 2014. Web. 2 Feb. 2016. <http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2014/01/who-cheatsand-why/355743/>.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *